Feathering Prop

More
8 years 2 months ago #1329 by Mike Foster
Feathering Prop was created by Mike Foster
I am considering installing a Maxi Prop or Vari prop and would appreciate any input from anyone whohas done this and the pros and cons. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 2 months ago - 8 years 2 months ago #1332 by Greg Temple
Replied by Greg Temple on topic Re:Feathering Prop
I installed a Max prop several years ago and it was expensive....and one of the best additions to the boat. Thrust in reverse really aids maneuverability. Feathering during sailing is great. I have no experience with the Vari prop.

Installation of a Max prop seems to vary quite a bit. In my case, the hardest part was removing the prop coupling because the shaft had to be shortened a bit. Others have reported having to enlarge the aperture area. In addition, absolutely verify your shaft rotation and weather your engine / tranny result in a R or L hand prop. You need to decide at installation with the Max prop. Some have R and some have L! I don't know if the Vari prop rotation can be changed at installation, or if it is built with one or the other.

In addition, be sure to measure the shaft diameter as this also varies. Do not take anyone's word for these items.

The Max prop requires annual maintenance which is simple and some who maneuver quite a bit report having the prop rebuilt after years of use. We cruise and just don't do much marina maneuvering.

I suspect your questions may result in a flood of opinions as props seem to be a bit like anchors....discussions resulting in the disappearance of quantities of rum while debating the the nebulous virtues of one or another.

Net is that the expense was well worth it.
Last edit: 8 years 2 months ago by Greg Temple.

More
8 years 2 months ago #1333 by Roy Belcher
Replied by Roy Belcher on topic Re:Feathering Prop